Image

What size power supply?

This is the place to ask questions about linear amplifiers, or power supplies

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
RodinKy
Donor
Donor
Posts: 129
Joined: Wednesday, 11 January 2017, 13:27 PM
Radio: DX2517 & Mark IV
Antenna: IMAX 2000/Maco Comet
Name: Rod Eagan
Location: Northeastern Kentucky

What size power supply?

Post by RodinKy » Thursday, 03 August 2017, 3:21 AM

I have a Texas Star HDV 350 that I want to use in the house. The spec sheet says it uses less than 4 amps but it has a 30 amp fuse in the hot line input, what amp power supply and which brand works the best. Thanks in advance.


User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1294
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: What size power supply?

Post by sonoma » Thursday, 03 August 2017, 4:26 AM

that amp will use about 25 to 30 amps on peak power. not sure where they got the 4 amps. a 40 watt radio will pull 5 amps when talking in most cases. I run a 30 amp switching power supply to run a amp in the shop for repairs.that one will run a 350 amp short term when just testing it. I would get a 50 amp to be safe as far as not peaking it when you hit the amp hard. you could get by with a 40 amp unit but it will hit it hard at times. just my 2 cents worth. some like the mega watt power supplys but you will pay a good price for a 50 amp unit. I think they start at about 115.00 on sell on a bid. I think mega watt is a sponser for the site unless they dropped out.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
TrblShooter
Donor
Donor
Posts: 90
Joined: Saturday, 28 May 2016, 17:46 PM
Antenna: Zerofive colossal
Name: Pete
Location: The Northeast

Re: What size power supply?

Post by TrblShooter » Thursday, 03 August 2017, 7:16 AM

RodinKy wrote:
Thursday, 03 August 2017, 3:21 AM
I have a Texas Star HDV 350 that I want to use in the house. The spec sheet says it uses less than 4 amps but it has a 30 amp fuse in the hot line input, what amp power supply and which brand works the best. Thanks in advance.
I ran a texas star 350 hdv with a astron vs-35m with no restriction to power output. The supply delivers 25 amp continous and 35 amp peak, more then enough to supply the 350. But sonoma is right, if you can go with a bigger supply, do it if you can, always better to have the extra headroom..

User avatar
12voltpower
Sponsor
Sponsor
Posts: 19
Joined: Saturday, 30 October 2010, 14:16 PM
Name: John Marles
Contact:

Re: What size power supply?

Post by 12voltpower » Saturday, 21 October 2017, 11:54 AM

Always go over size so as not to unnecessarily stress the equipment. I would go 50 amps too.



User avatar
jon6667
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 193
Joined: Wednesday, 11 May 2016, 7:17 AM
Name: jon
Cell Phone: 5183353857

Re: What size power supply?

Post by jon6667 » Wednesday, 25 October 2017, 9:43 AM

only one i trust is megawatt i have 3 of them.


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests