Image

hf rig noise

A place to ask questions about base setups.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
dirtyjob
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1264
Joined: Saturday, 19 March 2011, 18:50 PM
Radio: Many
Antenna: Super Penetrator 500
Name: Mark
Home Phone: Unit 613 Boston
Cell Phone: CBRT 18204
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Referrals: 2
Contact:

hf rig noise

Post by dirtyjob » Saturday, 06 February 2016, 20:38 PM

ok i have a few radios and antennas i use daily for base operations, i have noticed that when i have a cb hooked up to any of my antennas "ofc windom/ spt500/3 element gizmotchy" they run normally with little backround noise as they should during normal conditions.. However, if i use any of my hf rigs such as say my kenwood 870s, with my spt500 or 3 element gizmotchy i get 9 s units of static, but if i hook the hf rigs up to the ofc windom dipole it goes away.

My question is why do the other 2 antennas give me so much noise and the windom does not ?

P.S. Sometimes, not as often as i would like, the 9 s units of noise is not there.
Browning Golden Eagle Mark IVA - Mark III & Mark II
"LISTEN FOR THE PING"
Kenwood TS-590S - Yaesu FT897D - W2IHY 8 Band EQ - W2IHY EQPlus
Yaesu FT-101E - Tram D201A - President Lincoln - CP2000
Gizmotchy G-31 Beam
Super Penetrator 500 5/8 Wave
Comet GP9 2 meter/440
"North East Corner Of Massachusetts 613"
CBRT 18204

Image
(Click image to enlarge)




User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7415
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: hf rig noise

Post by MDYoungblood » Monday, 08 February 2016, 9:26 AM

Probably polarity, do you get the S9 on the horizontal side of the beam? That is a very high noise level, I would be searching out what's causing it, mother natural rarely gets that high.

3's

Greg
"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
231
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7205
Joined: Friday, 13 January 2006, 15:19 PM
Radio: Uniden/Icom/Cobra
Location: Trudging the Pacific NW Trail
Referrals: 1

Re: hf rig noise

Post by 231 » Monday, 08 February 2016, 11:00 AM

Greg might be right...it could be something as simple as polarity issue. But it sounds like you are running the Pre-Amp on the TS-870? If so, shut it off. I never run Pre-amps as all they do is amplify noise. If you need to pull stations out from the noise invest in a Times Wave ANC-4 noise phaser (or the MFJ version). They really do work.

Are you running any odd wall warts with the Kenwood by chance or move it close to say a USB hub on your comuputer? Are you sure it's actually the antenna(s) causing the noise? Lost more questions than answers...sorry.

231

User avatar
Bozo
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6927
Joined: Tuesday, 31 August 2004, 12:06 PM
Radio: General Lee
Antenna: Monkey Made MM6
Name: James W
Cell Phone: (208) 845-0004
Location: Bozo, Idaho
Referrals: 703
Contact:

Re: hf rig noise

Post by Bozo » Monday, 08 February 2016, 12:37 PM

Great answer Larry

Posted from the Bozo Phone
http://www.circusmobile.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Admin - CBRT Complaints Department
We encourage all users to support our sponsors. We believe our sponsors are the best out there. Be sure to tell them you saw their name on The CB Radio Talk Forum. Please use our contact us link in the menu if you are ether having registration issues, or need help with logging in. Otherwise please utilize our "Talk to Admin" forum to address your other concerns.
Support our fine sponsors!
Sign Guestbook
Image
Image

Image
Image



User avatar
Slim Pickins
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 882
Joined: Sunday, 08 November 2009, 7:10 AM
Radio: Realistic Navajo 457
Name: Paul
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: hf rig noise

Post by Slim Pickins » Monday, 08 February 2016, 18:24 PM

I quieted an S9 noise from my HF rig by moving the antenna rotator control further from it. I think the transformer was causing the interference. I didn't have it on my tube rig but it was torture on my iCom.
73,Slim

Insanity is hereditary......you get it from your children.




User avatar
543FtWorth
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 1617
Joined: Sunday, 18 July 2010, 17:54 PM
Radio: (non-sponsor) 29 LTD
Antenna: *Censored*

Re: hf rig noise

Post by 543FtWorth » Tuesday, 09 February 2016, 6:05 AM

On 10 &11 meter AM the noise bkanker/anl in my CBs seem to be better than my kenwood ts440 and yaesu 1200. The yaesu is alot quieter than the kenwood but sometimes I still get electrical noise that isn't there with a 148.

User avatar
pabxone
Donor
Donor
Posts: 170
Joined: Friday, 01 May 2015, 23:54 PM
Radio: NDI PC201
Antenna: 1/2 wave vertical
Name: Mark Anderson
Location: Victoria , Australia

Re: hf rig noise

Post by pabxone » Tuesday, 09 February 2016, 9:04 AM

Try temporarily patching thru a hard earth from a reliable earthing point on to the metal chassis of the radio.

Try to pick up a nice clean earth from the closest metal water pipe that heads off into the ground that also preferably doesn't have a bonding connection to the buildings MEN earth cable running back into the buildings mains power earthing.

Even an old piece of galvanized iron or copper water pipe hammered 4ft or so into the ground would be a good enough earth for a test to see what effect it has.

If that fixes it a single stainless steel earthing rod (2 rods will be needed most likely if you have sandy soil) with a 16mm earth cable back to the radio with a proper earth clamp at the rod end and a decent eyelet connector at the radio end should be the fix.

If that's still no better - If you have any lightning protection at the mast - try temporarily disconnecting that to see if it has any effect (Possible corrosion in the lightning arrestor , corrosion / LIR in the plugs or sockets , blown arrestor from a lightning strike and/or poor earth (Even foreign earth relative to the earth reference at the radio) at the arrestor.

Try temporarily hard earthing the mast from the same hard earthing point as before (Even try this if the antenna is a supposedly "Ground independent" variety)

Try also powering the equipment off a battery only - even a low current gel cell for a short RX only noise test - noise could be traveling back thru the mains supply , building cabling and/or internally generated within a power supply.

73
Mark


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests