Image

Sound

Help with installing an Antenna, or just choosing the right antenna to go with your radio, or your mobile.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Sound

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Friday, 10 February 2017, 8:19 AM

My radio in the garage is playing over the surround sound and pausing the tv when I talk on it how do I fix this. I have a tower up about 15ft from the house about 60ft tall if I move it further away from the house will this help me. I'm putting out about 550 watts not that much not sure way this is happening. I do have a cable box right next to the radio and the coax and cable code is almost on to[ of each other could that be doing it.


User avatar
Mtn Lynx
Donor
Donor
Posts: 429
Joined: Sunday, 11 September 2016, 1:00 AM
Radio: Anytone AT 6666
Antenna: A99/Wire dipole
Name: Cletus
Location: Western AK

Re: Sound

Post by Mtn Lynx » Friday, 10 February 2017, 11:32 AM

saw on another post that that was happening to another fella. members of the forum advised that a low pass filter may remedy the problem with your electronics.
\m/ >.< \m/
Anytone AT 6666
Galaxy DX 959
Galaxy DX 2517
Cobra 148 GTL
1/2 wave Dipole
Solarcon A99
TWRC Member: WR223



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7321
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD

Re: Sound

Post by MDYoungblood » Friday, 10 February 2017, 13:08 PM

Does it happen when the amp is off?

3's

Greg
ImageImageImage


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD Image WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment


Base
Uniden Washington
Mobile
Texas Ranger TR-696FD1C
Handheld
Maxon HCB-40WX
Antennas
Avanti Sigma II
Homemade Full Wave Loop
Homemade 1/2 wave Dipole
Hustler 102" SS Whip and Hustler Ball Mount

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
drdx
Donor
Donor
Posts: 5966
Joined: Wednesday, 25 April 2007, 11:32 AM

Re: Sound

Post by drdx » Friday, 10 February 2017, 16:25 PM

Are you running a coiled coax RF choke at the base of the antenna feed? Sounds like the surround has some speaker wire that is acting like an accidental antenna due to being accidentally the right length possibly.

-drdx
Yes it's me, Dollar-98, drdx, the original all *Censored*, shot cawla on workin this no-fade technology.

-drdx



User avatar
295 antenna
Mod Duck
Mod Duck
Posts: 544
Joined: Sunday, 23 October 2016, 21:45 PM
Radio: optima ,cobra 148ex
Antenna: patriot,brownig
Name: Charles Reney

Re: Sound

Post by 295 antenna » Friday, 10 February 2017, 17:21 PM

im thinking low pass filter and RF choke
Keep smiling ...It makes people wonder what your up too !

American eagle member : AE1577
TWRC Member : WR2950




User avatar
jessejamesdallas
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5780
Joined: Sunday, 10 October 2004, 18:02 PM
Location: Republic of Texas
Referrals: 1

Re: Sound

Post by jessejamesdallas » Friday, 10 February 2017, 18:12 PM

Low pass filter probably won't do anything...Been there, done that, no luck.

However! My radio was bleeding on my daughters headphones, and to fix the problem all I had to do was put a ferrite bead on the cord where the connector is that plugs into her computer...Problem solved.

Get a ferrite bead that's big enough to where you can loop the speaker wires at least once at the plug where it plugs into your receiver...2 speakers, 2 ferrite's...one for each speaker wire.

Having the coax right next to the cable box, or the coax to the radio and TV's coax on top of each other is not a good idea either.

I'm running close to 800w, my tower is right beside the house, and I don't bleed on anything in the house...(other than my daughters headphones before I stuck the ferrite bead on them)
Image
Image
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7321
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD

Re: Sound

Post by MDYoungblood » Friday, 10 February 2017, 18:57 PM

Moving the tower sounds like a lot of work and I doubt it would help. Grounding is important, tower should be well grounded and some type of lightning arrestor inline with the coax. A RF choke (also called a dirty balun) does help in some cases. The problem is most likely the surround sound system and the cable box.
To determine if it's the cable box just turn it off and the TV on (off the air broadcast), if it doesn't interfere than that means the cable box is receiving harmonics, call the cable company to come out and repair that problem, they can install a filter in/on the box and coax to help with removing the harmonics.
The sound system turn it on and if you are coming across it then try the beads mentioned by JJD could help, it may take more than one on each speaker leads.
I'd also ground the amp and radio too.

3's

Greg
ImageImageImage


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD Image WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment


Base
Uniden Washington
Mobile
Texas Ranger TR-696FD1C
Handheld
Maxon HCB-40WX
Antennas
Avanti Sigma II
Homemade Full Wave Loop
Homemade 1/2 wave Dipole
Hustler 102" SS Whip and Hustler Ball Mount

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1325
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Sound

Post by sonoma » Friday, 10 February 2017, 23:19 PM

they may not of grounded the cable box. I had the same problem years ago and the cable company installer was suppose to have put a ground on the system and he did not. they came out and put the ground on it and all was fine with mine. the shield on the cable needed to be grounded. the installer that did the 1st install said he did not put a ground on it because he did not know I had a cb radio. imagine that my pickup had one and my tower was about 10 feet from where they brought the cable in to the house. it had to come off the pole in the back yard. he just did not want to drive a ground rod into the ground.

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Sound

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Saturday, 11 February 2017, 8:11 AM

its does it with the amp on

User avatar
nk14zp
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 36
Joined: Saturday, 20 November 2010, 14:54 PM
Name: dj

Re: Sound

Post by nk14zp » Saturday, 11 February 2017, 12:29 PM

Check all your grounds including your rf grounds.

User avatar
231
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7205
Joined: Friday, 13 January 2006, 15:19 PM
Radio: Uniden/Icom/Cobra
Location: Trudging the Pacific NW Trail
Referrals: 1

Re: Sound

Post by 231 » Saturday, 11 February 2017, 23:14 PM

EZ CHOPPER wrote:My radio in the garage is playing over the surround sound and pausing the tv when I talk on it how do I fix this. I have a tower up about 15ft from the house about 60ft tall if I move it further away from the house will this help me. I'm putting out about 550 watts not that much not sure way this is happening. I do have a cable box right next to the radio and the coax and cable code is almost on to[ of each other could that be doing it.
Lots of possibilities as mentioned...some great ideas already. Here are some more ideas that you might try in no particular order:

- Add toroids to the speaker wires (sometimes it takes several per speaker)
- Shut the amplifier off (I bet barefoot you don't splatter harmonics as much)
- If you are running a Class C amplifier pretty likely going to a better class A, or AB will help allot!
- A coaxial choke at the feed point of the antenna will help (8"-10" in diameter about 8 turns)
- Invest in a Low Pass filter for your transmitter capable of 1kw (they aren't expensive)
- Invest in a high pass filter for your TV
- Plug the receivers being bled on into a good quality power strip (in case it's getting in through the AC lines)
- Clean up your audio (no more than 100%)

If you have neighbors chances are you are getting into their equipment too. Just saying. There are many more things you can do, but the above are the first that come to mind. I would first try cleaning up your audio, go to a class A amplifier, and install a low pass filter myself. Even that is likely not to be enough though.

Let us know how it goes.

231

User avatar
nk14zp
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 36
Joined: Saturday, 20 November 2010, 14:54 PM
Name: dj

Re: Sound

Post by nk14zp » Sunday, 12 February 2017, 8:26 AM

Has the cb you are having the issue with been clipped?

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7321
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD

Re: Sound

Post by MDYoungblood » Sunday, 12 February 2017, 17:48 PM

EZ CHOPPER wrote:its does it with the amp on
You are going to be a little more explicit, just a couple of words won't help us help you diagnose the problem. Did you try any of the things that has been suggested?

3's

Greg
ImageImageImage


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD Image WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment


Base
Uniden Washington
Mobile
Texas Ranger TR-696FD1C
Handheld
Maxon HCB-40WX
Antennas
Avanti Sigma II
Homemade Full Wave Loop
Homemade 1/2 wave Dipole
Hustler 102" SS Whip and Hustler Ball Mount

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department




Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests