Image

High noise level on Cobra base

Have some other technical questions can't find the answer for? Come in and ask them here.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
Badge19
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Wednesday, 09 August 2017, 4:02 AM
Name: Dave

High noise level on Cobra base

Post by Badge19 » Tuesday, 17 October 2017, 3:49 AM

I'm currently operating a Cobra 2010 GTL base that has a high noise level, like white noise; needle swings to 5db as soon as I turn on the radio and stays there. Any ideas as to reason/cause, and any solution(s)..?? Thanks in advance. :)


User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1307
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: High noise level on Cobra base

Post by sonoma » Tuesday, 17 October 2017, 4:36 AM

go around and turn off any thing running and see if it stops. if not may be from a house close by.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7225
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD

Re: High noise level on Cobra base

Post by MDYoungblood » Tuesday, 17 October 2017, 4:47 AM

I believe that radio has a 13.8v power jack on the back, I would try hooking to a good power supply to see if the noise is internal first. Then do like sonoma said, look and unplug nearby wall warts (small plug in PS), laptop computer chargers, smart phone chargers, touch lights, etc. are known noise makers. Also cheap CFL bulbs, found them to be a problem too.

3's

Greg
ImageImageImage


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD Image WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment


Base
Uniden Washington
Mobile
Texas Ranger TR-696FD1C
Handheld
Maxon HCB-40WX
Antennas
Avanti Sigma II
Homemade Full Wave Loop
Homemade 1/2 wave Dipole
Hustler 102" SS Whip and Hustler Ball Mount

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1307
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: High noise level on Cobra base

Post by sonoma » Tuesday, 17 October 2017, 9:12 AM

I was out of the radios for a couple years and installed my old base and mI had a high noise level just like you. I started unplugging every thing in the house and found a unit you plug into the wall plug to help keep mice and insects out of your home and it was putting out a noise my radio would pick up but nothing else was being bothered. I had to leave it unplugged do to the noise the radio would pick up.
I bought a uniden 880 radio for my pickup to try it and when I pulled into my drive I would get a 9lb noise level. it was a tv I had in the retreat area causing it. none of my other radios were getting the noise into them. so you never know what can cause a problem like this until you get some thing new and it pops up.
good luck on finding the problem

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7225
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD

Re: High noise level on Cobra base

Post by MDYoungblood » Tuesday, 17 October 2017, 13:38 PM

I had the same problem with one of the original Visio plasma flat screens (talking 10 yrs ago) that came out, only had noise in the base radio but not the mobiles hooked to the same antenna, TV was brand new and the wife screamed at me for weeks afterward, I tore it apart and replaced the filter caps with higher voltage, cleared up the problem.

3's

Greg
ImageImageImage


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD Image WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment


Base
Uniden Washington
Mobile
Texas Ranger TR-696FD1C
Handheld
Maxon HCB-40WX
Antennas
Avanti Sigma II
Homemade Full Wave Loop
Homemade 1/2 wave Dipole
Hustler 102" SS Whip and Hustler Ball Mount

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department




User avatar
jessejamesdallas
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5748
Joined: Sunday, 10 October 2004, 18:02 PM
Location: Republic of Texas
Referrals: 1

Re: High noise level on Cobra base

Post by jessejamesdallas » Tuesday, 17 October 2017, 14:05 PM

Plasma TV's can cause that also.
Image
Image
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.



User avatar
295 antenna
Donor
Donor
Posts: 505
Joined: Sunday, 23 October 2016, 21:45 PM
Radio: optima ,cobra 148ex
Antenna: patriot,brownig
Name: Charles Reney

Re: High noise level on Cobra base

Post by 295 antenna » Wednesday, 25 October 2017, 10:30 AM

Believe it or not but when i plug in my phone charger next to my radio it picks up noise also.
Keep smiling ...It makes people wonder what your up too !

American eagle member : AE1577
TWRC Member : WR2950



User avatar
jessejamesdallas
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5748
Joined: Sunday, 10 October 2004, 18:02 PM
Location: Republic of Texas
Referrals: 1

Re: High noise level on Cobra base

Post by jessejamesdallas » Wednesday, 25 October 2017, 18:15 PM

295 antenna wrote:
Wednesday, 25 October 2017, 10:30 AM
Believe it or not but when i plug in my phone charger next to my radio it picks up noise also.
They can. One I have now don't, but one of my old ones did.
Image
Image
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.




Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests