My first SSB experience.

Whether you're new to using single sideband (SSB) or have years of experience, this forum is the perfect place to ask your questions or provide assistance to those who are new.
Adrian
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Handle: Adrian
Radio: 2950DX

My first SSB experience.

Post by Adrian »

Okay, I've been dinking around with an old Radio Shack radio for a couple of months, mostly just listening to the shouting matches on AM when skip's been rolling. Didn't seem like much more going on there than just... Well, shouting matches. I could hear the SSB'ers talking, mostly on 38, so I decided to come off a little money and get a 'real' radio. Well, I got my 2950DX off the UPS truck yesterday, and got it installed. This evening, I talked to 414 in Ontario Canada on it. It was a fairly brief contact, but that was a cool moment. Maybe under similar conditions I could've done the same thing on AM, but heck, AM's standing room only.

Since this forum doesn't get much traffic, I just thought I'd throw this in.

Adrian
"Everything in modulation." - John Black

448 in the Peach State
likes2grill
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Radio: Midland 79-290

Re: My first SSB experience.

Post by likes2grill »

I like to talk SSB even on my old sears 23 and made so great contacts with people from this forum and around the east coast.

Post by 231 »

Congrats' Adrian! The 2950 is a terrific radio and for what it's worth, I've been running pretty much strictly sideband for many years now. I don't mind AM mind you, I just like SSB better, that's all. Certainly it's easier to pick out contacts during the DX pile ups, too. For me it's just easier to listen to...especially when guys have their radio dialed in for some smooth audio.

Glad to hear you enjoyed it. I'm usually on 37 LSB as there are a whole bunch of us up here that yak there often. Maybe we'll hear ya' sometime?

73's
Sporty Mike
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Antenna: S.S. 102 / Maco V5/8
Radio: Alot of 'em!!