Help on new install

This is the place to post your general tips or ask questions about your installation, whether it's for mobile or base stations.
darkstar420
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK

Help on new install

Post by darkstar420 »

First let me say I am a complete newbie when it comes to CB, but know my way around a volt meter. My wife got me a Bearcat 890SSB and a K40 plus series center load cb/10M antenna with a mirror mount (i am using the mirror mount to attach it to 1986 M1009 K5 blazer using one of the old military antenna mounts). When i first started it up a heard some traffic for about 3 seconds then nothing. I checked the SWR, which is built in and i am off the chart with an 8.5 and a fail on antenna mismatch. I am using some older RG58U cable i had from years back and have not check resistance yet, but will in the morning. The issue I am most concerned with is the initial success and then silence. Also i get nothing on the WX, which i find odd. If you have other suggestions on diagnostics please let me know.

Thanks
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Handle: sonoma
Radio: President Washington

Re: Help on new install

Post by sonoma »

make sure the antenna brkt is mounted properly and not shorted to ground. from the swr reading some thing is very wrong. I would trash the old coax and get some new mini 8 coax, it is a lot better than what you are trying to use. do the obvious 1st such as coax and antenna being as it should be. make sure nothing is shorted since you said you can use a ohm meter.
then post your results of the setup after you verify all is well with the antenna setup.

forgot to say since you have no weather the antenna would be my 1st check. you said you could hear some one talking for a few seconds, they could have been very close why you picke3d them up. I have had a radio on my repair area and some one close key up and I hear them with out a antenna hooked up. could have been the issue.