Switch In Line With CB Power?

This is the place to post your general tips, or need to have a question on your install here.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
dancrosoft
Donor
Donor
Posts: 28
Joined: Tuesday, 02 August 2011, 15:28 PM
Radio: Galaxy DX98VHP
Antenna: Wilson Silver Load
Name: Dan

Switch In Line With CB Power?

Post by dancrosoft » Friday, 04 September 2015, 14:02 PM

I would like to put a kill switch inline with my Galaxy DX98VHP. I have 8 Gauge wire ran to the battery - 50amp fuses at battery and at radio. I would like to install a switch inline so I can kill the power. Can anyone comment on if this is a bad idea or not? It seems quite hard to find a quality 12VDC toggle switch rated at 50AMPs but they are out there. In addition (I am no wiring expert) but from what I understand the wear and tear on switched is due to arc when being flipped under load. If I turn the radio off then flip the switch - would that negate said wear and tear?

Another option would be a relay but I haven't thought that one out in my head yet :) I hate adding complexity when its not needed.

Thanks for any advice!




User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7515
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Switch In Line With CB Power?

Post by MDYoungblood » Friday, 04 September 2015, 14:22 PM

They do make then, here is one, just "Google" kill switch",
Image
There shouldn't be any arching if the radio is turned off and it's not a good thing to turn on the kill switch with the radio on. Some radios do draw current when in the off position but I don't think that is one. Personally I don't think it's necessary.

3's

Greg


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

User avatar
543FtWorth
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 1617
Joined: Sunday, 18 July 2010, 17:54 PM
Radio: (non-sponsor) 29 LTD
Antenna: *Censored*

Re: Switch In Line With CB Power?

Post by 543FtWorth » Friday, 04 September 2015, 16:46 PM

You could use a relay triggered by an accessory connection in the fuse box. That way the radio only has power when the key is on. The 95t I have runs the fans at certain temps if the radio is on or off. They draw very little current. All the time I had it mobile I never had a dead battery because of it.



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7515
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Switch In Line With CB Power?

Post by MDYoungblood » Friday, 04 September 2015, 17:26 PM

My pickup sets for days (sometimes weeks) without being used so I went out and got one of these,
Image
Put it in the back window on the suction cups that came with it and wired it directly to the battery, haven't had a problem with a dead battery since.

3's

Greg


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

User avatar
Lost Ram
Donor
Donor
Posts: 925
Joined: Tuesday, 22 September 2009, 7:46 AM
Radio: Yaesu FT-991
Antenna: 700' Loop
Name: Kerry
Location: In the Bayou
Referrals: 1
Contact:

Re: Switch In Line With CB Power?

Post by Lost Ram » Friday, 04 September 2015, 22:05 PM

An easy switch could be two 30A relays in parallel. A common 12V switch could fire it on or off. Why do you need a Kill Switch on the Radio? 543 makes a good point about some radios with fans running with the radio and truck turned off due to the sun heating up the cabin. I have a 2970N2 with the same type of fan. Even in Louisiana I dont have a battery issue when I dont use my truck. It might even be a month or two during the heat of the summer before I use it and I never have any battery draw issues. I also have two batteries so this might make a difference as well.


CB: TRC-450, Imax@50'
Ham : Yaesu FT-857D, FT-897D, FT-990 and FT-991, FT-8900
Ham Antennas: 700' and 258' wire loop, Maco shooting Star tuned for 10 Meter, 250' doublet, 8E 2M Quad-SSB, 4E 2M Quad-FM, 2M Copper Slim Jim 2M omni.
"The two enemies of the people are criminals and government. So let us tie the second down with the chains of the Constitution so that the second will not become the legal version of the first."
Thomas Jefferson.


User avatar
dancrosoft
Donor
Donor
Posts: 28
Joined: Tuesday, 02 August 2011, 15:28 PM
Radio: Galaxy DX98VHP
Antenna: Wilson Silver Load
Name: Dan

Re: Switch In Line With CB Power?

Post by dancrosoft » Wednesday, 09 September 2015, 19:27 PM

Thanks for all the help. I went without the switch on this one for now :). May put it back in when I get the other issues resolved.




Post Reply Previous topicNext topic