Image

Echo

Need some help with a radio mod? Pop in and ask away.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Friday, 21 April 2017, 19:14 PM

anyone know what echo board this is I'm trying to hook it up. I think it came out of a stock cobra not sure

Image

Image


User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Saturday, 22 April 2017, 2:27 AM

not sure what it is from the pictures. would be better if we could see what wires are on it and what control it has on it. can not tell what wires are on it with all the extra items in the picture.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
jon6667
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 270
Joined: Wednesday, 11 May 2016, 7:17 AM
Radio: icom 7300
Antenna: dipole
Name: jon
Cell Phone: 5183353857

Re: Echo

Post by jon6667 » Saturday, 22 April 2017, 11:20 AM

looks like the connex echo board. i have one here just like it.
took it out of a cobra 29

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Saturday, 22 April 2017, 12:16 PM

Jon6667 maybe you could help him with the hookups since you have one.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7464
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Echo

Post by MDYoungblood » Saturday, 22 April 2017, 12:36 PM

What radio are you installing it in, the pic with the knobs doesn't look like a Cobra. Whoever had it hooked up could have at least used different colored wires. Take some close ups of the board and mostly the wires needing connection points.

3's

Greg
"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department




User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Saturday, 22 April 2017, 15:03 PM

Image
Last edited by EZ CHOPPER on Saturday, 22 April 2017, 20:35 PM, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Saturday, 22 April 2017, 20:13 PM

Chopper I still can not make out all the wires to help you with the hookup. the 2 white wires are coax for you audio in and out plus the shield wire for them wrapped around the center wire. looks like a red and black wire more than likely power and ground. on the other end of the board looks like 2 more coax leads but can not see the ends to see what is hooked to them. is there a control hooked to the other 2 coax wires that the end is hidden from the picture.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Saturday, 22 April 2017, 20:36 PM

ok got a good pic up tried to do it from my phone earlier didn't work

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Saturday, 22 April 2017, 20:44 PM

Image

Image

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Sunday, 23 April 2017, 4:11 AM

Chopper does this thing have some sort of a control soldered to it. why do you have it inside all the other wires where it is hard to see what all is hooked to the echo. also for some reason this photo site you are using locks my computer up when I go to it and can not get my browser to go back . I have to shut it down for some reason. is there a board number on it? should start with ept then some numbers. I have looked at a lot of boards and none like this. the connex echo looks a lot like it but not the same. does it have a variable control hooked to the 2 wires that are seperated from each other soldered to the board. need to know what is on the end of all the wires. best to move it out of the radio it is laying in so we can tell.
good luck chopper I do not have any thing that looks like what you have so can not compare it for you, Jon6667 said he has one maybe he will chime in.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Sunday, 23 April 2017, 7:22 AM

does have variable control one knob on the one end it don't have the knob with two adjustable like usual

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Sunday, 23 April 2017, 8:02 AM

I have searched every where and can not find this version you have. do not know what wires are hooked to the variable since the pic does not show it, all I really see is 2 white coax wires tobether on the board which looks to be audio in and out and a red wire which could be power then 2 other white coax wires that are not soldered together or close to each other so not sure what those 2 are hooked to. if they are hooked to the one knob setup it could be for your adjustments. is there any other wires other than the one red and 4 white coax cables on the board. so not sure what this could have came out of originally so not sure if any one will be able to help unless they happen to have one. it does look close to the old connex cv3 boards they had out year ago. I know galaxy had one that had 2 gain controls on it in the old 33 and 44 hml single final radios. it did not have the double stacked knobs on it. I have a galaxy 44hml with the dual control echo as I just mentioned but it is not the same as yours. sorry for no help on this end unless you move the echo out of the other mixed wires and can see what all the wires are hooked to. then still may not be able to help. but I am willing to try if you can put a pic here of the hole thing with out all the other wires running all around it. did you look to see if there is a number on the board. most will have it stamped on them some where.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
jon6667
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 270
Joined: Wednesday, 11 May 2016, 7:17 AM
Radio: icom 7300
Antenna: dipole
Name: jon
Cell Phone: 5183353857

Re: Echo

Post by jon6667 » Sunday, 23 April 2017, 11:03 AM

i have one. never said i knew how to install it.

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Sunday, 23 April 2017, 12:39 PM

does yours have dual controls on it or a double stack control? might help to figure out what wire go where.

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7464
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Echo

Post by MDYoungblood » Sunday, 23 April 2017, 16:23 PM

From what I can tell from the pics everything is hooked up but the input and output of the board. The 2 red wires are positive one for a switch (probably on the pot) and the other for power, does it hook to 8v or 12v is your guess, the one set of shielded wires look hooked up to the potentiometer which looks like a dual pot, all that is left is the set for input and output and since I haven't a clue on the radio my guess is they go to the mic jack. You could take a look at the schematics for the Connex radio's, most have echo in them.
Now I'll ask again what radio are you hooking it up too.

3's

Greg
"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Sunday, 23 April 2017, 20:47 PM

I'm going to try to get a vid of it

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Sunday, 23 April 2017, 21:10 PM

ok got a video of it hope this will help

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Monday, 24 April 2017, 6:14 AM

it is a uniden 76 put inside a tram titan

User avatar
jon6667
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 270
Joined: Wednesday, 11 May 2016, 7:17 AM
Radio: icom 7300
Antenna: dipole
Name: jon
Cell Phone: 5183353857

Echo

Post by jon6667 » Monday, 24 April 2017, 11:23 AM

mine has dual controls.

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Monday, 24 April 2017, 14:00 PM

jon6667 what leads are going to your dual control. this got placed in a new post not on the one for Chopper. this might even help him. echoes are so easy to hook up. not sure what the problem on his is. audio in and out, power and ground and then the pot for the control.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7464
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Echo

Post by MDYoungblood » Monday, 24 April 2017, 14:17 PM

sonoma wrote:
Monday, 24 April 2017, 14:00 PM
jon6667 what leads are going to your dual control. this got placed in a new post not on the one for Chopper. this might even help him. echoes are so easy to hook up. not sure what the problem on his is. audio in and out, power and ground and then the pot for the control.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image
Moved it back to the original topic.

3's

Greg
"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Monday, 24 April 2017, 17:25 PM

mine has a single knob on it not dual. this was already in it I changed the cb board in it was working should be the same hook up on the mic I think. I took out a cobra 25 and put a uniden 76 in its place

User avatar
jon6667
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 270
Joined: Wednesday, 11 May 2016, 7:17 AM
Radio: icom 7300
Antenna: dipole
Name: jon
Cell Phone: 5183353857

Re: Echo

Post by jon6667 » Tuesday, 25 April 2017, 11:01 AM

ill have to dig in my parts bin. if i can find it.

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Tuesday, 25 April 2017, 13:54 PM

the boards will be basically the same. at least the audio in and out will be. just have to look at how you power on the echo. does it work off 8 volts or 12 volts. that will be what you have to verify when hooking it up.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Tuesday, 25 April 2017, 14:40 PM

works off 8v where it says in and out what side goes where I know the 2 white wires coming out of the board put the 2 grounds together then the one that is left witch would be one more wire coming out of each white wire because there's 2 wires in the white I know ones ground so you would have 2 left ones in ones out where does that go on the mic

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Tuesday, 25 April 2017, 16:07 PM

the in side goes to the mic plug. the out from the echo will go to the audio wire you pulled from the mic plug.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Wednesday, 26 April 2017, 17:36 PM

ok ill try it

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Friday, 28 April 2017, 7:02 AM

ok I got it hooked up it will talk normal till I turn the switch on to power on the echo board. when I power up the board it will key up then no sound. you can see the kindle move like normal like its suppose to but nothing no sound comes out. turn the echo board off talks normal.

Image

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7464
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Echo

Post by MDYoungblood » Friday, 28 April 2017, 8:29 AM

Possibly hooked up backwards?

3's

Greg
"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Friday, 28 April 2017, 9:48 AM

as MDY said possible audio wires are reversed. all to hook up is power, ground, and the 2 audio wires.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Friday, 28 April 2017, 18:05 PM

I did that ill try it again soon as I put power to it, it will key and not audio.

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Friday, 28 April 2017, 18:28 PM

OK, do you have the ground wires on the audio wires grounded with the shield wire at the mic hookup? then you should have a ground wire with the power wire do you have it hooked up? you need to tell us just what you have hooked up on the board. if the audio wires are grounded some where and the main board ground grounded. unhook the power wire ground and see if it lets it work.sounds like you could have a ground loop problem.
you need to explain what you have hooked up and to where. with out any info it makes it hard for any one to help you, so please explain what you have done. also do you have a mic gain on this radio. I need all the info to help you. where are getting the 8 volts to feed the echo?

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Sunday, 30 April 2017, 15:01 PM

well chopper did you ever do any thing to the radio. two days and no reply from you if you have it working or not. you never did answer my last questions.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Thursday, 04 May 2017, 1:04 AM

Hey Chopper did you give up on the echo or did you ever get it hooked up right.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 288
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Echo

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Thursday, 04 May 2017, 7:54 AM

sorry guys been really busy haven't had time to look at it I'm going to mess with it today. if I remember the ground that was coming out of the wires for the mic was hooked to the base of the chassis for ground maybe that's my problem because its not hooked to the mic ground

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1362
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Echo

Post by sonoma » Thursday, 04 May 2017, 10:17 AM

you might even have to use 1 ground only. I have seen the ground act up this way when both were hooked up and cause this same problem. I would just leave the ground for the power wire loose and tape it off and the echo would get all the grounds off the audio ground. Astatic echo boards were real bad about this. some uniden 78 radios I would have to hook the audio wires up to the mic gain instead of the mic plug. I would hook it up on the wire leaving the variable external pot. for some reason the radio would squeal with the audio wires at the mic plug and hooking it up after the mic gain would solve the problem.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests