The New Dx Directory
Image
COMING SOON!
CBRT Visitors get first look. You may log in with your dxdirectory.com username/email and password or you can register here. Please be in mind that it is still under construction, and so some links may not work. Let me know what you think by clicking here.

how many of yous have ran tube equpment?

This area is dedicated to talk about tube radios, or amplifiers.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
triple7wva
Donor
Donor
Posts: 776
Joined: Saturday, 05 May 2007, 22:51 PM
Location: harriman tennessee

how many of yous have ran tube equpment?

Post by triple7wva » Thursday, 10 May 2007, 2:36 AM

im courious just to know how many of yous guys have ran and/or run tube radios or amps?

jas.




User avatar
PA629
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 868
Joined: Tuesday, 17 October 2006, 23:49 PM
Location: NW PA

Post by PA629 » Thursday, 10 May 2007, 4:41 AM

First radio back in the 60's was a Hallicrafters CB-3A, then got a Cobra Cam 88, and then a Browning Golden Eagle. Since then I've acquired 2 Tram D-201A's, another Cam 88, a whitefaced Johnson, an old Robyn, a Sonar, a non-working Demco Satellite, and a Comstat 25. Amps? I have 2 Firebird 500's, a Contex 6706, an old Maverick, and an SB-220. And, NO, nothing's for sale, and, yes, I'm always looking for 6lq6's!! :wink:

Does this qualify me for membership? 8)


Base: Galaxy DX2517, D104 Silver Eagle w/W2ENY element, SB 220, Imax 2000, 4 element quad
Mobile: Galaxy 95T2, Astatic 575-M6, Sirio P-5000 Performer, Unmentionable 4x2879

User avatar
KI4MSJ
Donor
Donor
Posts: 668
Joined: Thursday, 09 November 2006, 10:57 AM
Radio: ICOM 7000
Name: Scott
Location: Virginia

Post by KI4MSJ » Thursday, 10 May 2007, 4:56 AM

I ran a Yaesu 902 dm. 125 watts easy. Best damn radio I ever ran. Man I miss it.



User avatar
PA629
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 868
Joined: Tuesday, 17 October 2006, 23:49 PM
Location: NW PA

Post by PA629 » Thursday, 10 May 2007, 5:04 AM

I have a line on a Yaesu FT-101EE with the 11M on board. Hopefully it'll work out and I can put the 2000GTL into "back-up" mode. :wink:


Base: Galaxy DX2517, D104 Silver Eagle w/W2ENY element, SB 220, Imax 2000, 4 element quad
Mobile: Galaxy 95T2, Astatic 575-M6, Sirio P-5000 Performer, Unmentionable 4x2879

User avatar
THUMPER
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3884
Joined: Monday, 20 September 2004, 0:00 AM
Location: Chico, CA

Re: how many of yous have ran tube equpment?

Post by THUMPER » Thursday, 10 May 2007, 11:08 AM

triple7wva wrote:im courious just to know how many of yous guys have ran and/or run tube radios or amps?

jas.
yup have some i use both radio and amp




User avatar
hotrod459magnolia
6 PILL USER
6 PILL USER
Posts: 68
Joined: Saturday, 10 June 2006, 13:37 PM
Location: Mississippi

Post by hotrod459magnolia » Saturday, 12 May 2007, 13:12 PM

i have ran a champ with 250b's in it, eagle 500 with 20lf6's, and my baby right know heathkit sb-221 with 2 3-500z's. the heathkit is the best box i have every ran.


459 in the mag


MOBILE:
SWP GENERAL LEE
EASTCOAST 1x4
PREDATOR 10K "MUDDUCK SLAYER"

BASE:
GALAXY 2517
PALAMOR ELITE 35A
HEATHKIT SB-221
MACO 103 ANTENNA

User avatar
highdrive
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 252
Joined: Monday, 01 January 2007, 18:45 PM
Radio: Cobra 29
Location: TOP SIDE OF ILLINOIS

Post by highdrive » Saturday, 12 May 2007, 13:52 PM

I ran a D&A mavrick 250 6 tuber back in da early 90's. It was my first go at working the tune/load. It kicked butt on the airwaves...and also blew up a tv set!



User avatar
triple7wva
Donor
Donor
Posts: 776
Joined: Saturday, 05 May 2007, 22:51 PM
Location: harriman tennessee

Post by triple7wva » Saturday, 12 May 2007, 15:47 PM

im just glad to hear that are still people that know how to run a tube station. im working on a writing up a list of tubes and tube outputs and what not. i used to know most of that stuff by heart but like the old saying goes "if you dont use it you lose it"

jason :D


"droppin' that big DC hammer"

the king with the most swing...well maybe one day..lo

l

User avatar
Big B
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 30
Joined: Saturday, 12 May 2007, 16:05 PM
Location: The Magnolia State of Confusion
Referrals: 1

Post by Big B » Saturday, 12 May 2007, 16:21 PM

PA629 wrote:First radio back in the 60's was a Hallicrafters CB-3A, then got a Cobra Cam 88, and then a Browning Golden Eagle. Since then I've acquired 2 Tram D-201A's, another Cam 88, a whitefaced Johnson, an old Robyn, a Sonar, a non-working Demco Satellite, and a Comstat 25. Amps? I have 2 Firebird 500's, a Contex 6706, an old Maverick, and an SB-220. And, NO, nothing's for sale, and, yes, I'm always looking for 6lq6's!! :wink:

Does this qualify me for membership? 8)
Have you ever considered converting from 6LQ6's to 24LQ6's or 31LQ6's?? They are cheaper..........



User avatar
King Mudduck
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 524
Joined: Saturday, 18 November 2006, 20:05 PM
Radio: Many
Antenna: Droopy draws
Name: Dee
Location: Coeburn VA
Contact:

Post by King Mudduck » Saturday, 12 May 2007, 18:20 PM

I use a Tram D201-A and a Browning Mark 3 and a Browning S-23/R-27. Also a Siltronix 1011C. I also have a few Tube amps as well and let me tell you, you cant beat the sound quality and the super strong modulation of a tube radio!


JESUS LAID DOWN HIS LIFE FOR YOU,CANT YOU FIND IT WITHIN YOURSELF TO STAND FOR HIM?

User avatar
Popcorn501
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 937
Joined: Wednesday, 17 January 2007, 19:36 PM

Post by Popcorn501 » Saturday, 12 May 2007, 21:39 PM

Use to have a Browning S9/r2700(s-9 6 channel TX) into a jb-12 into a 10 tube phantom.The audio was unbelievable!!



User avatar
outlawmobile
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 547
Joined: Thursday, 04 January 2007, 18:46 PM
Location: Pennsburg Pa.

how many of yous

Post by outlawmobile » Saturday, 12 May 2007, 22:25 PM

Used to have a Varmint 450 xl base amp,that thing was an audio monster.Also had a Siltronix 1011c at one point in time,neat old tube rig.Shawn



User avatar
triple7wva
Donor
Donor
Posts: 776
Joined: Saturday, 05 May 2007, 22:51 PM
Location: harriman tennessee

Post by triple7wva » Saturday, 12 May 2007, 22:27 PM

D&A phantoms were sweet boxes,all the D&A's that ive had were good clean boxes with great audio. ive had 3 D&A's, raider,maverick and the phantom. i wanna get a heathkit 3-500z box and a nice tube radio. sold my tube radios a few years back. id like to find a yeasu tube base. i had a chance to buy a FT-210 awhile back but passed on it....jas.

wernt the varmits base/mobiles? i seem to rember having one that would run base and could go mobile...


"droppin' that big DC hammer"

the king with the most swing...well maybe one day..lo

l

User avatar
outlawmobile
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 547
Joined: Thursday, 04 January 2007, 18:46 PM
Location: Pennsburg Pa.

how many of yous

Post by outlawmobile » Sunday, 13 May 2007, 6:14 AM

I know for sure the one I had was a base only model,I have seen mobile varmints also but I don't know if they made a base/mobile or not.Its certainly possible I guess.Shawn



User avatar
triple7wva
Donor
Donor
Posts: 776
Joined: Saturday, 05 May 2007, 22:51 PM
Location: harriman tennessee

Post by triple7wva » Sunday, 13 May 2007, 6:45 AM

ive got pics of it somewhere taht i have to scan onto my pc...jas.


"droppin' that big DC hammer"

the king with the most swing...well maybe one day..lo

l

User avatar
Punkin Head
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3187
Joined: Monday, 11 October 2004, 1:27 AM
Radio: ICOM IC-775DSP
Antenna: Little Tarheel II
Name: Kevin
Location: Charles Town, WV
Contact:

Post by Punkin Head » Sunday, 13 May 2007, 13:38 PM

I have had a varmit 250, maco 500, tempo one, messenger 2, black cat mobile amp, jc penny 23 channel, prolly others that i cant think of right now.


Drake C Line
Little Tarheel II
ICOM IC-775DSP
ICOM IC-746 Pro
ICOM IC-2200H
Baofeng UV-5R
Baofeng UV-3R+

User avatar
keibler
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 36
Joined: Sunday, 11 February 2007, 21:49 PM
Location: beckemeyer il

Post by keibler » Wednesday, 16 May 2007, 20:34 PM

i well my dad had an old messenger 222 23 Chanel and an astro 6 12 amp now my r m 750 amp good amp has 10 tubs in it lots of power i like that way :D



User avatar
Mr Love
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 105
Joined: Wednesday, 08 November 2006, 16:16 PM

Post by Mr Love » Wednesday, 16 May 2007, 23:30 PM

had a KLV-1000 it did about 900 watts it worked good for about 3 years
then up and died now i cant find no one to fix it whole bunch of tubes too
now i run pills dont need to tune load just my input KLVsucks :(



User avatar
dud muck
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1174
Joined: Thursday, 14 December 2006, 22:04 PM
Location: tustin, ca

Post by dud muck » Thursday, 17 May 2007, 7:46 AM

I'm on the internet, and the internet is a "series of tubes"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Series_of_tubes

does that count?


Image
Unlimited power permitted on CH1 to CH27 as per FCC CFR 47 part 18: 18.305(a) and 18.301

User avatar
KI4MSJ
Donor
Donor
Posts: 668
Joined: Thursday, 09 November 2006, 10:57 AM
Radio: ICOM 7000
Name: Scott
Location: Virginia

Post by KI4MSJ » Thursday, 17 May 2007, 8:13 AM

That's a good one. Almost as good as Al Gore(I think) said, he invented the internet.



User avatar
928bolo
6 PILL USER
6 PILL USER
Posts: 76
Joined: Sunday, 17 June 2007, 14:37 PM
Location: Allentown, PA

Old Tube Radios

Post by 928bolo » Sunday, 17 June 2007, 14:57 PM

Not to get to nostalgic but I think tube radios sound better. The receive quality seems richer in tone since most of the these radios had large speakers.

When keyed the slap of a Tram II or the squeal of a Browning let everyone know what radio you were running.



User avatar
Visegrip
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 748
Joined: Wednesday, 30 May 2007, 19:57 PM
Location: Louisiana

Post by Visegrip » Sunday, 17 June 2007, 15:07 PM

I'm currently running a Yaesu FT 101EE into a Yaesu FL 2100B.
Its not "doing" what it should though. I FINALLY found a guy to work on it for me.
Hopefully in the next few weeks it'll be up and running again



User avatar
outlawmobile
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 547
Joined: Thursday, 04 January 2007, 18:46 PM
Location: Pennsburg Pa.

Re: Old Tube Radios

Post by outlawmobile » Sunday, 17 June 2007, 16:06 PM

928bolo wrote:Not to get to nostalgic but I think tube radios sound better. The receive quality seems richer in tone since most of the these radios had large speakers.

When keyed the slap of a Tram II or the squeal of a Browning let everyone know what radio you were running.
I used to get all kinds of compliments on how nice my Varmint base amp sounded.Was told more than a few times it had broadcast quality audio.I sure do miss that amp,but my neighbors dont :lol: Shawn



User avatar
causmik
Donor
Donor
Posts: 855
Joined: Wednesday, 04 October 2006, 6:21 AM
Location: Olympia WA USA

Post by causmik » Sunday, 17 June 2007, 16:35 PM

I have never owned a tube set....amp or otherwise. One of these days I will find a decent base and put it in line so as to compare the audio. Obviously "glass on glass" would be optimum but for the time being would one be better off to run a tube radio into a solid state amp or solid into a tube amp.

Seems like a tube radio into the pill amp (quality one of course) might be the way to go for now. Any input fellow tube-a-holics?

mike



User avatar
linx
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 8986
Joined: Wednesday, 02 May 2007, 17:25 PM
Radio: 2 tin cans + string
Name: Rob
Location: Nashville, TN
Referrals: 6
Contact:

Post by linx » Sunday, 17 June 2007, 16:58 PM

I run a tube amp. RM KLV1000. Never had any problems with it. It pushes anly about 1100 watts, but with an expensive set of tubes I have been told by another local that runs one it can push 2500 or so. I know that running 1100 tube watts, I smash 1200 watt pill amps my neighbor's run.


Admin - CBRT Complaints Department
We encourage all users to support our sponsors. We believe our sponsors are the best out there.
Be sure to tell them you saw their name on CBRadioTalk.
Support our fine sponsors!
VOTE FOR CBRT TODAY!
Image
CBRT ON TWITTER!!!
My Twitter Too
Image

User avatar
outlawmobile
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 547
Joined: Thursday, 04 January 2007, 18:46 PM
Location: Pennsburg Pa.

how many of yous have run tube

Post by outlawmobile » Sunday, 17 June 2007, 17:19 PM

causmik wrote:I have never owned a tube set....amp or otherwise. One of these days I will find a decent base and put it in line so as to compare the audio. Obviously "glass on glass" would be optimum but for the time being would one be better off to run a tube radio into a solid state amp or solid into a tube amp.

Seems like a tube radio into the pill amp (quality one of course) might be the way to go for now. Any input fellow tube-a-holics?

mike
I ran a Cobra 2000 into the Varmint.I have never known anyone to run a tube radio into a pill type box but heck I guess it would work just as well.Shawn



User avatar
bookie
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 132
Joined: Thursday, 31 May 2007, 14:26 PM

Post by bookie » Sunday, 17 June 2007, 17:38 PM

my first base was an old tube rig. not sure what it was. but its still in the garage at my parents (i think). i've ran radios and amps. one of my best amps was Palomar of some type it did from 10-40 meters and around 400W. i've got an old 101e around here somewhere, picked it up from a guy in ohio (van man) for $125 flat for mike, speaker, land line patch, and radio. some day i'll dig it out.

tubes are the bast audio you can get. o'yeah i was running an RT-524 for the hick of it untill last month. that thing was loud!!! thats an old tube type military radio.

nate



User avatar
928bolo
6 PILL USER
6 PILL USER
Posts: 76
Joined: Sunday, 17 June 2007, 14:37 PM
Location: Allentown, PA

Post by 928bolo » Monday, 18 June 2007, 15:59 PM

I have several tube radios (Browning Mark IV, Tram II and d201, Sonar F23 and Model 5, Cobra Cam 88 , Teaberry Model "T", DAK IX) and run them from a tube amp (MACO 200) and a Galaxy 225 pil.

I'm nostalgic about tube equipment. I like to adjust everything just right. Between the VFO on the radio, the plate and tune knobs of the amp, and the knobs on the antenna matcher I get a good fix. Tuning SSB can be a challenge to get it right.

PS: MJF make a great switch to manage several radios on one or more antennas.



User avatar
AK295
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 1724
Joined: Sunday, 18 March 2007, 10:48 AM
Location: Anchorage Alaska

Post by AK295 » Tuesday, 19 June 2007, 21:04 PM

I'm running a Robyn base radio and a Skipper 71b radio. Varmint 250xl and a few Skipper 300's and 300A's and 1 klv200v for amps.
LOVE the clean tube radio and amp sound!



User avatar
Chainsaw355
Donor
Donor
Posts: 148
Joined: Wednesday, 28 February 2007, 10:52 AM
Radio: many
Name: Kelly
Location: Sandpile
Contact:

Post by Chainsaw355 » Wednesday, 20 June 2007, 10:10 AM

I run a 12 tube phantom and i have alot of smaller tube amps also.


Chainsaw in tha Sandpile

User avatar
Graywolf
Donor
Donor
Posts: 238
Joined: Friday, 30 March 2007, 21:06 PM

Post by Graywolf » Wednesday, 20 June 2007, 11:05 AM

I run a Maverick pushed by a raider at home. and PA629 who that runs tubes ain't lookin for some 6lq6's and Link your in my back door next time I get home I'll give a shout out to ya what channel you run on??


!!!!!!!!STUCK IN THE MUD DUCK STATION!!!!!!!

User avatar
Whitman
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 20
Joined: Sunday, 24 June 2007, 13:08 PM
Location: Memphis

tube modulator

Post by Whitman » Monday, 25 June 2007, 19:31 PM

I use to run a tube modulator. It was hand built here in Memphis. I sold it on eBay awhile ago for around $300. Any one know how a modulator works? I wish I had kept it know.



User avatar
rev ike
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 623
Joined: Tuesday, 19 June 2007, 16:57 PM
Location: N.W.Indiana-G.I.

tube equipment

Post by rev ike » Monday, 02 July 2007, 9:43 AM

yep im a tube junky i have a few things. guess the in croud is not into tubes actually need info myself...blackcat 1080



User avatar
BOOTYMONSTER
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 1049
Joined: Thursday, 22 March 2007, 12:16 PM
Location: RICHMOND VIRGINIA USA

Post by BOOTYMONSTER » Monday, 02 July 2007, 11:11 AM

back in the later half of the 70's when i was a teen i ran a 4 tube D&A behind a cobra 89 , into a penetrator on a 10 ft pole with a chimney mount and of course the absolutely necessary (at that time) lollypop . the good ol days :) ........................i had so much fun with that rig . :twisted:



User avatar
Iceman270
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 194
Joined: Thursday, 28 June 2007, 20:45 PM
Radio: Uniden Grant XL
Name: Steven
Location: Central NC

Post by Iceman270 » Saturday, 21 July 2007, 13:03 PM

I run a 3 tube Bearfoot III. :wink: Fixing to get new tubes put in it and get her back running 10-8.


Image
Sparky's CB Shack - "Where Big Radios Are Born"

User avatar
Buckshot1
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 155
Joined: Sunday, 20 May 2007, 7:26 AM
Radio: Base & Mobile
Location: IN

Post by Buckshot1 » Saturday, 21 July 2007, 13:30 PM

Had an old Robyn base, cannot remember the model, but I am pretty sure it had tubes and a Varmint 500 that I know had tubes. The combo was awesome! Talked all over the world on SSB! :D



User avatar
psycho
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 0
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 15:55 PM
Referrals: 1

Re: how many of yous have ran tube equpment?

Post by psycho » Saturday, 21 July 2007, 16:07 PM

triple7wva wrote:im courious just to know how many of yous guys have ran and/or run tube radios or amps?

jas.
I ran a 12 Tube D&A Phantom. Back in the early late 1970s that was about the best out there.
With the steel tubes and nice pill boxes..... glass tube amps are senseless.



User avatar
Spitfire 441
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 48
Joined: Thursday, 26 July 2007, 9:58 AM
Contact:

Glowin Glass Tubes

Post by Spitfire 441 » Sunday, 29 July 2007, 14:47 PM

Why are tubes sens less?
Nothing like the warm glow and aw some fidelity that tubes give. Crystal clear high level plate modulation. Most accurately reproduces the human voice with all its multiple harmonics. Granted they take a bit of TLC and tubes can now days be a bit pricey. That can be got around if you are savvy. The way I see it if you can read a schematic and love these old tube rigs they are not hard to repair. Usually just replaceing old electrolytic caps is the worst. Get a Sams Photofacts for radio in question, and tune it up.
I got a Firebird 500 free, weak tubes. 1 drivin 3. Ahh you say 6lq6's are $$$. You are correct. Here is a little secret, If its got four tubes (any 4 tube 6lq6 box) use 31lq6 tube, run filaments off line voltage in parallel. Otherwise it is the same tube and go for $18 or less brand new. The thing now will easily do 450 watts peak all day.



User avatar
outlawmobile
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 547
Joined: Thursday, 04 January 2007, 18:46 PM
Location: Pennsburg Pa.

Re: Glowin Glass Tubes

Post by outlawmobile » Sunday, 29 July 2007, 15:55 PM

Spitfire 441 wrote:Why are tubes sens less?
Nothing like the warm glow and aw some fidelity that tubes give. Crystal clear high level plate modulation. Most accurately reproduces the human voice with all its multiple harmonics. Granted they take a bit of TLC and tubes can now days be a bit pricey. That can be got around if you are savvy. The way I see it if you can read a schematic and love these old tube rigs they are not hard to repair. Usually just replaceing old electrolytic caps is the worst. Get a Sams Photofacts for radio in question, and tune it up.
I got a Firebird 500 free, weak tubes. 1 drivin 3. Ahh you say 6lq6's are $$$. You are correct. Here is a little secret, If its got four tubes (any 4 tube 6lq6 box) use 31lq6 tube, run filaments off line voltage in parallel. Otherwise it is the same tube and go for $18 or less brand new. The thing now will easily do 450 watts peak all day.
Let me tell ya,this here fella knows a thing or 2 about running and maintaining classic/antique equipment.He is local,well kinda local,not rite down the street but he has one of the best sounding stations in our area.As you can see from his equip.list he runs some of the great old classics.I have heard other locals poke fun for not stepping into the present and running newer stuff but ya know its funny 441 could key all over the very ones who would poke fun at his classics.Keep on maintaining those old radios 441,they make the local airwaves sound great[especially that Imperial]Shawn


Your 327 Outlawmobile around the Keystone just got down!

User avatar
Spitfire 441
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 48
Joined: Thursday, 26 July 2007, 9:58 AM
Contact:

High level plate modulation

Post by Spitfire 441 » Sunday, 29 July 2007, 17:24 PM

Thanx Outlaw mobile.
I am just hopelessly nostalgic for rigs I couldn't own when I was a kid playing radio.
Now I am a kid all over. :D



User avatar
psycho
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 0
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 15:55 PM
Referrals: 1

Re: how many of yous have ran tube equpment?

Post by psycho » Sunday, 29 July 2007, 17:59 PM

psycho wrote:
triple7wva wrote:im courious just to know how many of yous guys have ran and/or run tube radios or amps?

jas.
I ran a 12 Tube D&A Phantom. Back in the early late 1970s that was about the best out there.
With the steel tubes and nice pill boxes..... glass tube amps are senseless.
Glass tube amps today are a very bad idea. Price (12) 6LQ6 tubes. I really don't care about waveform or harmonics, just good, clear, loud audio. I takes some severe abuse to blow a ceramic tube.
The last time I priced new 6LQ6 tubes they were $60 a piece and that was 10 years ago.



User avatar
ColorBlind
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 12
Joined: Saturday, 28 July 2007, 20:39 PM
Location: Near Cleveland

Post by ColorBlind » Sunday, 29 July 2007, 18:45 PM

Just a thought; you can get tubes from musician's sites like the following:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/home/navigation?q=Tubes

A lot of guitar amps use or have used tubes.

Al



User avatar
rev ike
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 623
Joined: Tuesday, 19 June 2007, 16:57 PM
Location: N.W.Indiana-G.I.

tubes

Post by rev ike » Sunday, 29 July 2007, 18:50 PM

i guess you solid state boys will get rid of your cars and start hitch hiking cause gas is gettin pricey too.ill pick y'all up bring you over let you see the glow in the dark world from a real radio operators perspective :lol:



User avatar
djrebel236
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 2501
Joined: Tuesday, 01 May 2007, 18:38 PM

Post by djrebel236 » Sunday, 29 July 2007, 20:01 PM

Back in the day, i had 3 tube type kicker, i believe 1 was a 350 or 450 Skipper base, the other 2 were mobile, i cant remember what the wattage was , but one of them i used melted a wilson 2000 mag-mount down to the trunk of my old car, (what a mess), the only tube type radio that i still have today is a Hallicrafter S-108, it just a receiver but a dam good one, i just need to stock up on tubez for it...Dj


I'm banned for talking smack!

User avatar
Jo Jo
Mud-Duck Jr.
Mud-Duck Jr.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday, 05 August 2007, 15:15 PM
Referrals: 1

Post by Jo Jo » Sunday, 05 August 2007, 15:55 PM

Right now I live in an apartment. But when I lived in a house I ran (still have it to) a Twin Drake set (R-4b receiver, and a T-4xb transmitter with an MS4 Speaker) with the L-4B linear. That radio can talk like no other. I will need to replace the tubes when I set it up again.



User avatar
rev ike
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 623
Joined: Tuesday, 19 June 2007, 16:57 PM
Location: N.W.Indiana-G.I.

Post by rev ike » Sunday, 19 August 2007, 22:21 PM

my first box kenrich eagle 200 3x 20lf6 tubes still runs hard to this day



User avatar
Av8r1
Donor
Donor
Posts: 285
Joined: Tuesday, 15 August 2006, 20:57 PM
Radio: Kenwood TS-530s
Name: Bill
Location: Madison Wi.

Post by Av8r1 » Friday, 31 August 2007, 17:42 PM

I have a Sonar FS-23 base and the Br-21 amp and a power D-104 and man that thing talks!

Had the same radio in my teens.

:lol:



User avatar
Cochise
6 PILL USER
6 PILL USER
Posts: 71
Joined: Saturday, 22 September 2007, 12:37 PM

Post by Cochise » Sunday, 07 October 2007, 19:11 PM

Howdy!
ive got a Yaesu 101 and two hec tube amps ones a 500 and the other is a 1200..
all still light up and work just like their sposed to..
LOVE THE GLOW!!
Cochise
COME ON SUN SPOTS!!!



User avatar
TwentyTwo-Zero
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1751
Joined: Tuesday, 23 October 2007, 11:48 AM

Post by TwentyTwo-Zero » Tuesday, 30 October 2007, 17:48 PM

I have a Siltronix 1011C, Yaesu FT101E, Tram D201A & Cobra Cam88 packed away in the closet. All work except the Cam88 - needs to be re-tubed...



User avatar
TwentyTwo-Zero
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1751
Joined: Tuesday, 23 October 2007, 11:48 AM

Post by TwentyTwo-Zero » Tuesday, 30 October 2007, 17:49 PM

I have a Siltronix 1011C, Yaesu FT101E, Tram D201A & Cobra Cam88 packed away in the closet. All work except the Cam88 - needs to be re-tubed...




Post Reply Previous topicNext topic